Batch UserManager.CreateAsync & UserManager.AddToRoleAsync

Nov 26, 2014 at 1:19 PM
Edited Nov 27, 2014 at 11:04 PM
Hi

I'm new to this (c# and azure) so please excuse me if I'm asking silly questions. I'm building my user service as a WebApi project and want to use AzureTables.

As part of the User Service i have two groups of users that can register. So i have two registration end points /api/account/register/user & /api/account/register/provider.

When I process these requests in my AccountController i make a call to UserManager.CreateAsync (this was the default I've seen in all ASP.net Identity samples).

Now I could add code (see sample code below) to the method in the account controller register method that adds a role for a user using the UserManager.AddToRoleAsync but these calls happen independent of each other and doesn't complete atomically. i.e. the user could be added to the role with could fail. Correct?

in my AccountController Class i've done this.

[AllowAnonymous]
        [Route("Register/User")]
        public async Task<IHttpActionResult> Register(RegisterBindingModel model)
        {
            if (!ModelState.IsValid)
            {
                return BadRequest(ModelState);
            }

var user = new ApplicationUser { UserName = model.Email, Email = model.Email };

var result = await UserManager.CreateAsync(user, model.Password);

if (!result.Succeeded) return GetErrorResult(result);
            result = await UserManager.AddToRoleAsync(user.Id, "USER");

return !result.Succeeded ? GetErrorResult(result) : Ok();
        }

My problem is I could end up with orphaned records if the second write fails. e.g. user with no role. I'm trying to avoid this.